Browne, Netter make watch lists

EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern seniors Vince Browne and Al Netter were named to the preseason watch lists for the Nagurski Trophy and Outland Trophy, respectively, both of which were released on Friday. The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) annually presents the Nagurski Trophy to the nation's top defensive player, while the Outland goes to the top interior lineman in the country.
Browne, who earlier this week was named to the Bednarik Award watch list, is one of 87 players across the country spotlighted as a candidate for the Nagurski Trophy. Five finalists will be selected on Nov. 17, with the 2011 winner being announced at the annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet on Dec. 12.
NU head coach Pat Fitzgerald remains the only two-time recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Trophy in the 18-year history of the award.
One of 13 representatives from the Big Ten on the 65-player Outland Trophy watch list, Netter has started 39 consecutive games for Northwestern and last year was an honorable mention All-Big Ten choice at left tackle. He begins the 2011 campaign as a preseason honorable mention All-American tackle according to Consensus Draft Services (CDS).
2011 marks the 66th season of the Outland Trophy, making it the third-oldest individual award in college football. After three finalists are named on Nov. 21, this year's winner will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show held on Dec. 8.
The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 13-day period this month. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list. Following is the complete 2011 preseason watch list calendar:
Tue., July 5: Maxwell Award/Bednarik Award
Wed., July 6: Biletnikoff Award/Mackey Award
Thu., July 7: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award
Fri., July 8: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy
Mon., July 11: Jim Thorpe Award
Tue., July 12: Rotary Lombardi Award
Wed., July 13: Rimington Trophy
Thu., July 14: Butkus Award
Fri., July 15: Davey O'Brien Award/Doak Walker Award
Mon., July 18: Walter Camp Award