Crawford named third-team All-B1G

EVANSTON, Ill.--Northwestern redshirt senior forward Drew Crawford (Naperville, Ill./Naperville Central) was recognized as a third-team All-Big Ten selection by the league's media members when the conference honors were announced Monday evening.
He was an honorable mention choice of the conference's head coaches.
It is the second time Crawford has been named to the All-Big Ten third team. He also earned the honor as a junior in 2011-12. Crawford was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 2010 and was an honorable mention all-league honoree by the media that year as well.
He has had an outstanding final campaign as a Wildcat, posting team-best averages of 15.5 points and 6.6 rebounds per game. Crawford and Michigan State's Adreian Payne are the only two Big Ten players to rank in the top 10 in the conference in both scoring and rebounding.
Crawford's top performance of the season came in a 65-56 victory at No. 14/13 Wisconsin Jan. 29 as he poured in a season-high 30 points to key the Wildcats' win. He finished up the Big Ten campaign with a 27-point performance in leading NU to a 74-65 win at Purdue on Sunday.
Crawford was particularly outstanding in Big Ten road contests, averaging 19.0 points per game while shooting 48.8 percent from the field.
His 1,884 career points lead all active Big Ten players and are just 16 behind Billy McKinney (1974-77) for second place in Northwestern history.
Crawford was also recognized as the team's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award recipient. The student-athletes chosen to receive the honor are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.
Northwestern (13-18, 6-12 Big Ten) is the No. 11 seed for this week's Big Ten tournament at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. The Wildcats open up play at approximately 8 p.m. Central time Thursday when they take on sixth-seeded Iowa.